Skip to content
27 Comments leave one →
  1. March 3, 2010 2:11 pm

    Good points–blogging can be a great opportunity.

  2. March 3, 2010 2:26 pm

    Useful post. Thanks for sharing your tips.

    I’m not sure if I agree with you about the importance of buying your own domain name and having your blog professionally designed. Using your own name as a suffix to wordpress, bogger or similar is perfectly acceptable. I’d even argue that it positions you as “one of the masses” which is useful for blogging as people don’t expect you to be in an ivory tower.

    Having said that though, I guess it depends on the audience you’re looking for…

    • May 8, 2010 8:58 am

      Hi Barry

      Like the way you think about domain names … I use them sometimes and other times I don’t

  3. March 3, 2010 2:29 pm

    All good tips from the tactical side.

    However.

    I like to think you left out tips like “have something relevant to say,” “do it because you love it” and “invest yourself in quality and individuality” because they should go without saying.

    Otherwise, you’re handing people the keys to a well-designed blog that no one, including the author, will care about.

  4. March 3, 2010 3:04 pm

    I am flattered that you would go to the trouble of creating this very insightful blog. I appreciate the guidance and now feel that I need to rush out and do everything differently including changing my domain name. I will have to think on that one. Since I don’t have the extra cash, I think I will stay with the wordpress format as it suits my needs at the moment. I really just needed a place to spew and put my idle mind to use. The thing I miss most about working is the stimulating exchanges of interesting people and ideas. I am grateful to all of my new twitter friends for giving me an outlet to express myself and learn.

    Many thanks Jeff.

  5. March 3, 2010 6:02 pm

    Thanks for another good article!

    I have an online shop on etsy where I sell hand knit scarves, shawls and wraps. As part of my “networking,” I belong to several etsy teams, including the Etsy Twitter Team and Etsy Bloggers Team. I post to my blog, Foxy G’s Den of i-KNIT-quity (http://foxygknits.com) twice a week and take every opportunity to feature items that were made by members of my teams and other etsy sellers. This not only has given me a wonderful network, but also, hopefully, drives people to my etsy shop.

  6. March 3, 2010 7:32 pm

    Wow. I am flattered. Thanks for including me as one of your examples! I hope to meet you in person sometime…

  7. March 8, 2010 8:18 am

    Thanks, all very good points on the technical/tactical side – I’m taking notes for the day I start my own blog. I agree with Justin too, content is king – probably why I haven’t started mine yet 😉 I would also add one to your list from my observations so far: it’s good practice to reply to comments on one’s own blog, if warranted, as it continues the conversation.

  8. Shawn permalink
    March 18, 2010 2:19 pm

    Great post. Just 1 thing. Where are your share buttons? I tried to put it on Twitter, but couldn’t find any button to do that easily.

  9. March 21, 2010 4:33 am

    Great post. Thank you.

    Spot on with all your 15 points and you have given us some great examples to role model on this subject. I need to update my blog site http://wwwdotwhat.com more than once or twice a week which I try and do now.

    I think on your point 15, we need to pomote our blogs on all social media not just on twitter! In partcular via Linked and Facebook.

  10. March 27, 2010 3:48 am

    FULL of wonderful insights and URL’s on how and when to use Twitter; didn’t have quite as many anecdotes and ‘ah-hah’ moments as Twitterville, but still worth the discounted prices from Barnes & Noble (with added membership discount!). Follow me: #Dawn_Boyer

  11. April 10, 2010 3:02 am

    “Write comments on other important bloggers posts in your industry”

    that’s what I’m doing now, long live personal branding 😉

  12. April 22, 2010 2:58 am

    I appreciate the tips and think #3 should be given special emphasis. If you host your blog on WordPress, Typepad, etc. then you’re at their mercy instead of taking control of your content – case in point the Ning announcement that they will be charging for all of their forums…

    Sharon Mostyn
    Twitter: @sharonmostyn

  13. April 22, 2010 3:48 pm

    Fantastic blog! I just discovered it by someone else Tweeting it… You now have a loyal follower! 🙂

  14. April 30, 2010 2:39 am

    Thanks so much for this post. I’ve been blogging for a couple of years now about things I love, but never before in order to promote the things I Do. After a little research and posts such as this, I am finding it not as frightening of a task as first thought, and will be starting my new site this weekend. This was the last little boost of confidence I needed before making the decision to go for it! Much appreciation!!

  15. May 12, 2010 2:17 pm

    Love it. I recently started my own blog and basically use your list as a checklist to make sure I’m on the right path. On all the numbers that had “if resources and money allow” I’m still working on those, but the things I can control outside of money, I am (I’m even commenting on blogs I respect and read myself, I’m doing it right now, see #8 above). I try to stick to a strict Mon, Wed, Fri posting schedule starting out on http://www.throughanewlens.wordpress.com but hope to “up the ante” sometime soon.

  16. May 19, 2010 5:36 pm

    “#4 Get the blog built professionally designed and developed if you have the financial resources to do so”

    Couldn’t agree more. As much as I like tinkering with my site EVERY SINGLE DAY I’d be about a thousand times more productive if I had someone build and design it to my liking. Then I’d be able to focus on the real stuff like content and generating traffic.

  17. May 24, 2010 6:24 am

    Great post, as a casual blogger, I see I have lots to learn still, but this was a very interesting and informative post, thanks for taking the time to share.

    Have a super day.
    Colin.

  18. May 27, 2010 4:47 am

    Thanks Jeff.

    Although I am not sure on the credibility of adding numbers to your blog, especially when you first start out, as if you only have 2 readers, it doesn’t really inspire others to read.

    I think as well patience needs to be added in, I have been blogging now for 4 months, and realistically it takes this amount of time before people start to engage with you, I now when I started I didn’t think it would take that long!

    Lara
    http://www.SocialRabbit.net

  19. June 3, 2010 2:54 pm

    Great list. The list would have been nice when I was starting out.

Trackbacks

  1. Top 2 Reasons Why Blogging Will Boost Your Online Business « Earn At Home Mum
  2. Social Media Storytelling Marketing PR Technology Business Curated Stories Mar. 2, 2010
  3. Thursday 4th March…Check Out List Recon… – Traffic Exchange News
  4. How Much Buzz Does Tiger Woods Generate On Social Media Compared To The Global Number One Brand? « Jeffbullas's Blog
  5. How To Find A Job Using Social Media « Jeffbullas's Blog
  6. How To Make Your Personal Brand Visible With Social Media « Jeffbullas's Blog
  7. Tips, Tricks and Insights To Take Your Blog To The Next Level « Jeffbullas's Blog

Leave a Reply

