Skip to content
30 Comments leave one →
  1. Mary permalink
    February 7, 2010 2:53 pm

    …Love!

  2. February 7, 2010 3:53 pm

    Nearly all your reasons are business related.
    Television is not about building a brand or making money. It is about turning your brain off and being lazy.
    I watch television as my break from work. To give my brain a rest. Constantly thinking about what you can do to promote yourself or interact with others is not natural. We all need some down time. After a break I go back to work refreshed and more eager.
    Blogging is great but it doesn’t mean you can’t do other things. I think people could learn a lot from tv. Most people want light entertainment and not too much work on from them. We as bloggers can give them that as an alternative to tv. But we need some form of relaxation and light entertainment too

    • April 22, 2010 7:13 pm

      Absolutely agree Mary. I work more than 12 hours most days, sometimes 14 or more. My brain is fried and I need to do something to bring it down to a mild simmer. TV acts as a sedative that way, sometimes. Whenever I hear, “There is noting worth watching on TV…” I have to think, for who? There are lots of shows that entertain me.
      It has become cliché to bash television. It’s not about either or; it’s about what you choose to do at a given time, and it’s highly subjective.

  3. February 7, 2010 6:44 pm

    Wow! After reading this, I had better get blogging. My blog is mostly about Marketing Ideas…most of the content was for my benefit when I first started the blog. I want to put more time in also on building my brand and that does begin with providing more information that helps to build a relationship with my clients.

  4. February 8, 2010 12:57 am

    Thank You!! Although the people who really need to read this are too busy watching TV!
    I’ve gotten so I feel weird when I sit down to watch TV. I find that I’m very restless. And so the only time I can really watch TV is when I’m folding laundry. I can’t help it, I’m a multitasker at heart.
    Thanks for this great post.

  5. February 8, 2010 3:30 am

    Absolutely on-spot post! Many nights I’ve spent literally vegetating on the couch wasting my evening when I should have been either updating my blog or researching topics relating to my interests which I could of course write about and share with my readers. Thanks for clicking the re-set button in my brain!

  6. Mohsin permalink
    February 8, 2010 6:45 am

    Hey, i am kinda new to this blogging,,, heard a lot about it, but never found out how do one make money out of it????

  7. February 8, 2010 10:54 pm

    I’ve always tried to explain to people why I have this desire to continue writing my blog, but you’ve summed it up pretty well here.

    Although, I do tend to have the TV on in the background just in case 🙂

  8. February 11, 2010 10:34 pm

    Jeff:

    Agreed, but I think it’s sometimes good to relax and veg out for awhile. Being a super-networker is great, but relaxation leads to a more healthy existence.

    Whether one relaxes by watching TV, reading a book, cooking or something else is their prerogative. But I don’t think people have to be blogging or networking ALL the time. Balance is key.

  9. February 12, 2010 1:52 pm

    Great post, Jeff, and I agree with your points. I’m dramatically reduced my TV watching and ramped up my blog Fearless Competitor http://www.fearlesscompetitor.com. But as some pointed out, it’s important to substitute one for the other directly — TV for blog — as time with family, cooking, reading a book, or playing sports refreshes the mind.

    Besides, if I see one more car ad on tv, I’m going to vomit.

    Jeff Ogden, President
    Find New Customers
    http://www.findnewcustomers.net

  10. February 17, 2010 9:18 am

    Great post. Sure you’ve written it to provoke a reaction and I guess the point is as much, ‘do something useful with you life other than watching TV’. Personally, I haven’t got a TV licence (which you need in the UK to watch content) and people at work don’t understand why. I’d rather do something interactive – even if it’s playing computer games, which at least uses your brain and puts you in touch with other people.

    As for blogging though, do you think it’ll survive the next five years? With networks like Twitter and Facebook, people are much more inclined to do things in bite sized chunks. If it doesn’t it’ll be a shame – I think blogging’s a great outlet and ultimately people like to express themselves.

  11. March 1, 2010 6:58 am

    You are so right. I have not owned or watched a TV for three years. If I did have one in my apartment I would never have time for watching. I would rather interact online with people around the world.

  12. March 4, 2010 10:59 pm

    You can find an Spanish version of this post at: http://contenidosweb.com.mx/blog/20-razones-para-tener-un-blog/

  13. March 28, 2010 1:43 pm

    Hi Jeff – great post (glad I caught your Tweet). I “unplugged” from the TV a few years back and haven’t missed it. I definitely found better uses for my time and added more desirable projects to my list because of more room in my day. Sure I like to unwind as much as the next person, but since reading and writing both add to my pleasurable past time, I’m in luck.

    -Tracy

  14. April 15, 2010 1:36 am

    Right on target Jeff! I rarely watch TV, and find that the people who complain they have “no time” to blog or learn (living in mediocrity ) are those who are glued to reality shows and other mindless junk. Having said that I do agree with Dave’s comments that we need time to veg and turn our brains off. I am a former radio news reporter and news director and rarely watch the news anymore. To veg and turn off the business brain I tend to watch funny shows like Seinfeld, Sex and the City, I Love Lucy, Friends, etc. I want to laugh more.

    The key point you mention Jeff are critical thinking skills and creativity that come from blogging and writing. You won’t find that on a reality show.

    Thank you for sharing your insights.
    Best regards,
    Susan

  15. April 17, 2010 1:28 pm

    Thanks for the inspiration! It’s not always easy for me to write….

  16. April 20, 2010 1:29 am

    Jeff,

    These are some fabulous points and I should force my husband to read this, as he doesn’t understand my devotion to my laptop (perhaps because I seem to prefer it over him!). I am a SAHM, and blogging for me is quite different than it is for you, but it’s still a wonderful way to network, make friends, learn, write, etc…it’s my primary outlet. My husband fails to understand.

    I do watch maybe an hour of television at night while I’m winding down before bed. Otherwise, I’d much prefer to be flitting around the internet.

  17. micvadam permalink
    April 21, 2010 7:28 am

    Jeef, as usual a great post! Blogging helps me focus my thoughts and the reactions I get inspire me – Mic

  18. May 11, 2010 7:44 am

    A much better idea is to put something back into the community and find new friends and build relationships. A great way to do this is to join Rotary International http://www.ribi.org . Service above Self.

  19. May 21, 2010 7:54 am

    Yes but you don’t get to feel the relief of Glee, the fear of UFC fighting, the cravings from MasterChef nor the admiration for the Giro d’Italia riders.
    Walter http://xeesm.com/walter

  20. Barbara Vogel permalink
    June 2, 2010 7:48 pm

    I agree that with some exceptions, TV watching can be a colossal waste of time. I watch maybe one hour of TV a week. I plan to start a blog but for me the tradeoff will be doing less reading. I am a voracious reader and while I am excited about starting blog, I know that if I’m going to do it right, it will take time away from reading which to me is like breathing. Any tips on how to manage this?

    • June 3, 2010 1:06 am

      Hi Barbara,

      I’m a bit in your boat – I love to read too and have little interest in TV. For me, I use it as a reward (although sometimes you just need to make time to recharge) and once I check off my to-do tasks (which can include writing a draft post, research, posting it, etc.), I sink into a novel.

      Good luck!
      Tracy

  21. June 16, 2010 3:45 pm

    Wow!, this is a pretty good article but reading some of the comments, i’ve notice that, most people think that through watching TV they are giving a rest to their brain, and that is something i doubt, i think someone could rest the brain through watching music channels or something where they can been with their eyes closed or just don’t making the brain work, even listening music. Because if they are watching something else, what make they pay attention to, even if it is funny, or for entertainment, they are making work their brain, so they are not resting at all or even relaxing.

    If you want for real take a ‘Break’, you should go out, walk(alone or with company), sleep, meditate.

    If you want to have Fun or get Distracted, you should watch TV, Watch a Movie, go to Cinema, play a Game, even MMORPG’s (Massively Multiplayer Online Role Play Game), or do something with family.

    If you want to Grow Up and get more knowledge about lot of things and Share it with people and sometimes start to plan something big for your enterprise, You should use Internet, Blog, Twitter, Read Books, E-books, Articles, Etc.

    Anyway, each people choose what to do in their free (break) time, but for a real rest, they shouldn’t choose the TV.

    Francisco.

Trackbacks

  1. 29 raisons de bloguer pour le plaisir et les affaires « Les délires de Pascal Gagnon
  2. Day 6: No TV « A Year without TV
  3. Contenidos Web » 20 razones para tener un blog
  4. How To Find A Job Using Social Media « Jeffbullas's Blog
  5. Monday’s casserole « PR POTLUCK
  6. Tips, Tricks and Insights To Take Your Blog To The Next Level « Jeffbullas's Blog

Leave a Reply

